Skip to content

Can You Vote?

October 16, 2007
tags: ,

I just got this email from my friend and I am asking you for your help in helping her help her close friend…this was a major news story here and I think we can help her honor her uncle. Please help me help her honor him..he was killed protecting the neighbourhood I used to live in.

The letter below is from Rob Plunkett’s niece, who is in the running for the opportunity to carry the 2008 Olympic Torch over one of the legs of the 2008 Torch relay.  She wishes to dedicate the run to her Uncle Rob (Plunkett), a York Regional Police officer who was killed in the line of duty this summer…take a look and vote if you wish!  See link below…


Hi Everyone;
 
I am excited to announce that I recently submitted a short essay to a contest sponsored by Lenovo (a Chinese computer company that recently purchased the IBM line of PC’s).  They have chosen my essay as one of the 20 finalists from 11 countries to compete in Phase II of the contest.  The Grand Prize winners will get the opportunity to carry the Olympic torch over one of the legs of the 2008 Olympic Torch Relay across China.
 
To win Phase II I have submitted a 30-second video to the www.lenovo.com/torch website to be judged by the general public.  The three winners that will be chosen will be the ones with the highest number of votes.
 
Please take a minute to go to the website and cast your vote. 
 
If chosen to win I would like to dedicate my relay run to my uncle Robert Plunkett.  Constable Robert Plunkett, an Ontario Officer with York Region Police Services, was a leader in both the community and to the Special Olympics organization. Constable Plunkett was involved with the Law Enforcement Torch Run for over 15 years and the 1997 World Winter Games.  Through his long standing support of the organization he also served as the Chairman for the 2000 Special Olympics Ontario Provincial Games. Through his leadership over $1 million was raised for the Special Olympic Games.  In addition, as a result of his devotion and support the Law Enforcement Torch Run has grown significantly in Ontario raising funds and awareness for athletes with an intellectual disability.
 
My uncle Rob was killed in the line of duty on August 2, 2007, while making an arrest in conjunction with an automobile air-bag theft.  Rob is an inspiration to myself, my family and the community.  I would like to honour his legacy with this once in a lifetime chance to carry the Olympic torch.
 
If you are compelled, please don’t hesitate to forward this e-mail to anyone you know.  I will need all of the support I can get (literally around the world!) to win.
 
Thank you in advance for helping me realize this dream,
 
Erin Roy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2007 6:50 pm

    i hope you win

  2. Erin Roy permalink
    October 21, 2007 7:14 pm

    Thank you so much for the help in realizing this dream. I know each and every vote is critical to finish this! The voting will run until October 31, 2007 please vote daily at http://www.lenovo.com/torch

    My Best,

    Erin Roy

Leave a Reply

