Skip to content

Menu Monday

October 29, 2007

menumonday

I love Menu Monday that the one and only organizing junkie hosts every Monday and have decided it is one way to help me organize my weeks oh so much better. If you are visiting her today you even get to welcome her to WordPress!

So what am I cooking this week? Well I am a use the flyers kind of gal and what can I buy on the cheap that is still going to give me and Roo a healthy week.

Monday- MacNCheese Tuna Casserole. ( cost$2.30)

We make ours with good ol Kraft Dinner( I loathe the generic mac and cheeses so I buy it for $.49 on sale), tuna( also on sale for $.49), can of peas( again were on sale$.88) and cheese( the blocks were on sale for $4.99). This will be served with a side of salad.

Tuesday-Crispy Salsa Chicken( I have adjusted a recipe from Kraft-It was in there 5 meals on bag section), rice, corn

They say to use chicken breasts, here we use pieces($2.50). as well we don’t use a pouch ( I bought a canister of the Shake n bake spices on sale, put some in a baggie and I get the same result($.25), as well for the salsa I use the store brand which I find is just as good)($1.00).

Wednesday-Frozen pizza and salad and candy!( pizzas were on for $3.99)

Thursday-Meatless Meal-Frogs in a Hole, tomato slices(cost$2.00)

Frogs in a Hole is a dish that my grandmother made for me growing up and is now a favorite of Roos, and we do breakfast for dinner about once a week.

Friday-*eating out*

We are going to the Women’s Show downtown on Friday as Roo has the day off school. So after a day of browsing and having fun we will be using the $40 in Gift certificates I won recently for Gerrad Pizza-they make great pasta dishes too.

Saturday-Hot-dogs and French-fries, veggie($3)

Saturdays are the day for an easy meal, and if we don’t do this one we will do leftovers.

Sunday-Roast Chicken($5), potatoes, carrots and onions.

I cook this on low heat while at church so when we eat home we can have an early dinner.  

So how is that a week of healthy dinners for about $30. Now go visit Laura and see what everyone else is cooking.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2007 3:24 pm

    Sounds like a great week you have planned. I love seeing how others manage to cook great meals while spending very little.

  2. October 29, 2007 3:24 pm

    Sounds like a great week you have planned. I love seeing how others manage to cook great meals while spending very little.

Leave a Reply

