Skip to content

When Good Plans Fail

December 1, 2007

As my daughter’s illness started to come under control this year, I began to dream again: dreams like going back to work full time, of Roo fitting in. Well this week this mom got a couple of slaps upside the head and was faced with the realities that can come.

First is on the behavioral end of things, yes Roo has gotten so much better, but she still has far to go. She gets caught up in a linear thought and cant change it and then that becomes her truth, and she will stick to it no matter what. She can become stubborn beyond stubborn when in a cycle like this and until she has had time to first calm her body and her thoughts down she is stuck. At home when I see these coming I try and nip it is the bud and tell Roo to go and have some cool down time, often after this she then she can talk through any problem. In the real world though and when she is dealing with others who can have temporary authority over her some days she doesn’t fair well.

 Yesterday at her new after school program was one of those days.  Roo was playing dodge ball and was supposed to be out. She says she never felt the ball hit her, her teacher asks her to sit and it spirals downward from there. There was no hitting, no biting ( some of the things she used to d0-) just a level of disrespect and not following the rules).Resulting in Roo being asked to take a break from the program which means I at this time do not have childcare for Roo.

Finding childcare for a child with special needs in Toronto is extremely difficult if not impossible and is VERY costly if you have to do it yourself. It makes it that you have to earn at least $15 an hour minimum and then you would be back to what you got on welfare. You see a babysitter would charge at a minimum $10 for 3 hours a day=$150 dollars.  That is something that I can not afford and with Roo turning 10 on January 2nd she no longer qualifies for child care subsides and to get a space in a daycare here lets just say she will in junior high before her name got to where she would have a spot.

So basically this means that the $100 I spent on bus-fare in the last 3 weeks is for naught, as once again I have to pick her up at 3:30 every day. So my dream of returning to the work force are once again on hold.

With this said and done I really had wanted to be working by my birthday which is now 25 days away but I feel that is an impossibility so I am trying hard to just deal with the hand that is dealt.

It has also made for a change in the Christmas budget. There will be less here. We will make due, and we willing be going to less things then I had planned: There will be more things done at home like game playing, movie watching,  and crafts.

It has also changed my volunteering plans for the month as well as I am first and foremost the mom of a special child.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2007 2:50 pm

    Good luck, my thoughts and prayers are with you.

  2. December 1, 2007 2:50 pm

    Good luck, my thoughts and prayers are with you.

  3. December 2, 2007 12:48 am

    Childcare is such an outrageous cost – Harper has done much to provide tax credits and incentives for parents but it’s not nearly enough when costs continue to skyrocket, especially for special needs.

    I’m really surprised you aren’t able to find special needs loopholes in the education system – I know it’s available in Alberta – my SIL was able to tap into programs, subsidies, and funding cost-recovery for my niece, who was diagnosed with Tourette’s.

    Don’t let it get your December down – you are tenacious and gracious – I hope and pray things work out for you.

  4. December 2, 2007 12:48 am

    Childcare is such an outrageous cost – Harper has done much to provide tax credits and incentives for parents but it’s not nearly enough when costs continue to skyrocket, especially for special needs.

    I’m really surprised you aren’t able to find special needs loopholes in the education system – I know it’s available in Alberta – my SIL was able to tap into programs, subsidies, and funding cost-recovery for my niece, who was diagnosed with Tourette’s.

    Don’t let it get your December down – you are tenacious and gracious – I hope and pray things work out for you.

Leave a Reply

