Skip to content

Shopping with Points in Canada

December 8, 2007

We are in the day and age where companies in an attempt to keep customers coming in the door have taken to point cards and cash back type offers.

I use these to benefit me! I collect airmiles and if you don’t I highly recommend them especially when you can use the Fresh or free guarantee and shop at Dominion . Collecting airmiles you can shop at many stores and you have one redemption place. I love there bonus offers and it makes collecting a snap.

I also shop at Zellers and the Bay so I do have their Club Z card. For me because of pricing it hardly gets used unless they have a really good sale on.

The one I do use the most is my Shoppers Optimum. I love the fact that you can go to the ATM machine and get bonus coupons right in the store! I often shop the loss leaders here. Today they had a bonus redemption day and I walked out of the store with $114 in goods and paid $14. I was able to get Roo a few Christmas gifts for the cost of the taxes.

At Canadian Tire you can collect Canadian Tire money. I have done this but my collection always goes to Roo at school where it is collected for a local charity.

If you are careful in how you collect and redeem your points you really can make out well. I know I have and I am loving redemption days! Usually it makes it so everything I buy at Shoppers I get for about 40% (by the time I figure in redemptions, and the like) off by combining points and coupons-that is why so much of my shopping is done there now.  

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2007 10:01 am

    hat you really mean by points?

  2. December 9, 2007 6:45 pm

    Points are collected by having a loyalty card at one of the above companies, and each purchase you make you collect points which you can later reddem for things like goods, or in the case of airmiles travel and gift certificates.

Leave a Reply

