Skip to content

What Works for Me Wednesday: The Good Food Box

January 23, 2008

Here it is another windy winter day and this mom is trying to keep our house as healthy as can be. One of the ways I am able to do this here in Toronto is by getting a Good Food Box. It works for me. What is a good food box? It is a communal way of getting healthily locally grown mostly veggies and fruit at a great price. Food comes direct from farmers and the Ontario Food Terminal.

In more and more communities you can find ways to be both cheap and healthy. Look for our own local community foodshare programs they are wonderful at least the one here is.

Here is  a sample of what I get in a $17 box: 5 pounds of potatoes, a green cabbage, a bag of bean sprouts, a head of lettuce, a bag of spinach, a bunch of green onions, a green pepper, a pound of tomatoes, 2 sweet potatoes, 2 pomegranates, a bunch of bananas, a bag of oranges, and a bag of apples…

First I drop off payment and pickup my box at a local spot, I do this twice a month. It really helps me to eat healthy and it is cheap too! Here is a link to our local program and if you are here in Canada and looking for a local network you can find that on the site as well..

Now I am off too see what is working this Wednesday for others today here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2008 5:55 pm

    It’s really nice that you as mom try to eat healthy, especially in winter.

    I feel like eating this food box, but I don’t live in Canada. It’s a very distant place: Brazil. Now it’s summer, but even so i’ll try to find a local program as good as the one you have.

  2. January 23, 2008 5:55 pm

    It’s really nice that you as mom try to eat healthy, especially in winter.

    I feel like eating this food box, but I don’t live in Canada. It’s a very distant place: Brazil. Now it’s summer, but even so i’ll try to find a local program as good as the one you have.

  3. January 23, 2008 10:10 pm

    I used to get the Good food box when I worked in Toronto – we had it delivered to work but they don’t deliver out here in Bowmanville.

    It was always a good deal.

  4. January 23, 2008 10:10 pm

    I used to get the Good food box when I worked in Toronto – we had it delivered to work but they don’t deliver out here in Bowmanville.

    It was always a good deal.

Leave a Reply

