Skip to content

Reflecting on President Hinckley

January 28, 2008

 Last night the leader ( the prophet) of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints passed away, Gordon B Hinckley died at the age of 97. I have many personal memories of this man.

When I first joined the church in 1997 he was the leadership already, actually he served in church leadership most of his life and his influence has been felt in every area of the church’s life and direction. Temple building under him brought temples closer to families. There was no longer the need to put off temple work.  Under him there were two proclamations that effected members and their daily lives: one on the Family and the other on the Living Christ. He was great with the media bringing the church more and more into the mainstream of religions today. He definitely was one who brought the church forward in his almost 12 years as leader.

Personally I want to write of two times that I was personally touched by him. First was almost 11 years ago to the day. A letter arrived at the home of my now Ex husband. It was from the office of the first presidency. It was signed by him giving me and my ex permission to go to the temple for our marriage. I remember touching the ink, and thinking wow he signed this note…well the marriage was short but I do have a dear daughter out of it. So thanks Pres Hinckley for her.

The other was Roo was a baby and we first came back to Canada and low and behold who was coming to speak at Copps Coliseum in Hamilton but Pres Hinckley with his wife. I was one of that HUGE crowd that went to hear him and take in the spirit that was there. It was a good day.

 The church will go forward I am sure but President Hinckley will be missed. As Thomas S Monson is sustained in the days and weeks ahead I wonder what is instore. There is a plan for each of us, and I am thankful that I learned that at least..so good night President  Hinckley.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

