Skip to content

Father’s Day

June 14, 2008

Tomorrow is rather a sad day around this house. My dad has been gone for years now and I miss him still all the time. Even when I was living out on my own and raising my wee girl there was that nightly call from or to dad. He was calling to make sure I was safe and sound and at home.  I miss him so very much especially when days like tomorrow roll around.

I also feel bad for Roo who may never know what it is to have a dad. Yes she has a father but she doesnt have a dad, at least not one who is there for her in any way that matters. She has not seen her father since she was 6 months old. My ex has never tried to have a relationship with her and I think that sucks for both of them. Any attempts were first mine for her and then her own,  but there has never in 10 years been an unsolicited call to her, never a request to see her even when he was less then an hour away from our home. Roo is at an age where she is really beginning to question why, and to be honest I dont have answers for her. I  pray that Heavenly Father fills this hole for her.

For any men that might read this if you are a father, then please make sure you try to be a dad too, your children need you more then you may ever understand, even if it is just a phone relationship over a long distance it is a place to start..

To you who have dads and to the dads that are out there have a blessed Father’s Day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

