Skip to content

Menu Monday: Frugal Favorites

March 2, 2009

orgjunkiempm1This week with ice storms and rain headed our way I simply wanted comfort food. Favorites of my daughter and me. So I’m sharing my favorite recipe, and as you can see the rest of the week is easy.

1. Honey Mustard Curry Chicken(* recipe to follow), rice, corn

2. Spaghetti and meat sauce, and garlic fingers, with side salad ( leftovers are for lunch).

3.Hotdogs and French fries

4. Breakfast for dinner – scrambled eggs, toasted bagels, and tomato

5. Pizza- Sobeys has these on sale this week here in the Maritimes

6. Grilled Cheese and Chicken Noddle( soup was $.50 a can).

7. Leftover Mania

Now for my Curry Honey Mustard Chicken. This recipe is the one that all my friends love when they come for dinner.

  • 2 TBS curry powder
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup mustard
  • whole chicken cut into pieces.

Place chicken in glass baking dish, preheat oven to 375. Mix your 3 ingredients in bowl, you can add curry powder to taste. Bake in oven for 1 hr or if you want you can do this in the slow cooker too, where I leave it on low all day while I am at work. It is our family favorite, and it ain’t that expensive especially when you can get chicken on sale.

Now I am off to read what is cooking in other kitchens over at Organizing Junkie. You all might just want to check out my giveaway here.

Leave a Reply

