Skip to content

It is Party Time Common Cents Style

March 20, 2009

694798186_smallWelcome to my common sense corner of the world! I have some hot chocolate ready! Would you like a cup?

I also have herbal teas handy if that is more you style.

Enjoy your visit to my blog! I am your hostess, Hollie. You might remember me from my old blog Cheaper then Cheap from last year.

Who am I? I am a solo parent who uses common sense to save cents, be frugal, live simply, have faith, and raise a special needs tween daughter. How is that for a mouth full. I also work full time as an IT tech. I do have one other active blog called My Journey through the Bible which is more about the spiritual journey that I am on.

I live in beautiful Nova Scotia currently. I live in a small rural town called New Glasgow.

sping-08-095

This is a picture I took of the ocean not far from where I live. Nova Scotia is a great place to visit.

Now more about my blog. On Mondays I usually participate in Menu Mondays hosted by my friend Laura. On Wednesdays I also participate often on What Works for Me Wednesdays. On Fridays I often have a Friday freebie: usually a great freebie you can find online. On Sundays as of this week I will be hosting my Weekend Round Up of the best of what I have read online that week. Occasionally I also participate in the Festival of Frugality. I also write other posts about common sense stuff. Sometimes it simply might be about my life as a solo parent with a tween. Feel free to check out my archives!

Now at the beginning of March I began hosting a giveaway for my new blog! This is my first time owning my own domain. So I wanted to celebrate and give a good prize..so if any of you like board games you want to check out my Bananagrams post!

Now I am off to meet some new bloggers, and Yes I love prizes my favorites on the list so far are Int 1,36,17 and USC 17,44,and 15 but would love anything that ships to Canada. So join me ath the 5 Minutes for Mom Ultimate Blog Party

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2009 9:13 pm

    I look forward to reading how you save money! I am excited to have found your blog 🙂

  2. March 21, 2009 8:40 pm

    Hi! So nice to meet you. I am visiting all the party goer sites and following where I can. I am participating too! Party on from an old hippie grandma who is restoring an 1880 Victorian Stone Farmhouse here in Colorado.

  3. March 22, 2009 12:07 am

    Just stopping by from the party – nice to “meet” you!

  4. March 23, 2009 3:53 am

    Hello! Poppin’ in from The Ultimate Blog Party…all the way from Queensland, Australia! G’Day! I hope you have time to visit my party soon.

    Ta!

  5. March 23, 2009 8:17 am

    I just stopped by, blog hopping as part of UBP 2009. It is very nice to meet you. I have a blog at http://www.superfunmama.blogspot.com; It’s a toddler learning blog. I’d love to have you for a visit! I am loving UBP! Have a magical day. I have a goal of trying to visit 150 blogs per day, whew! Let’s hope the little one takes long naps for the next few days.

  6. March 23, 2009 1:16 pm

    Hi Hollie, thank you for stopping by my site. I have enjoyed meeting you and I look forward to someday visiting Nova Scotia, I’ve heard it’s beautiful 🙂 Take care!

  7. March 23, 2009 2:50 pm

    you live in a beautiful area! Stopping by from UBP to say “hi” – party on!
    carma

  8. Shelley C permalink
    March 23, 2009 10:07 pm

    I’ll have a cup of hot chocolate please..I still haven’t acquired the taste for tea, although I really WANT to! I’ve been to Nova Scotia a few years back for a wedding in Halifax. We did travel to the interior and finally over to take the CAT to BarHarbor. The ocean drive is lovely! Nic3e to meet you.

  9. March 24, 2009 8:15 am

    Nice to meet you!

    Talk about a party!

    I’m quite intrigued and am learning how to get around!

    Just stopping by from 5minutes for moms blog party!

  10. March 24, 2009 11:51 pm

    Making my way through the party…happy to have found your blog! Look forward to checking out more of your posts.

    Nell

  11. March 25, 2009 3:30 am

    I would love a cup of hot chocolate its my favorite, happy UBP!!!

  12. March 25, 2009 10:38 am

    You live in a beautiful part of the world! Thanks for the hot chocolate and for stopping by my blog. Party on!

  13. March 26, 2009 3:43 am

    Thanks for stopping by my site during the UBP! I definitely enjoyed meeting you!

  14. Tamara B. permalink
    March 27, 2009 5:28 pm

    Just cruising through from the UBP to say hi 🙂

  15. Betty C permalink
    March 28, 2009 2:22 am

    I’m late to the party as usual, but better late than never. I enjoy your blog and I’ll be back when I have more time.

  16. March 28, 2009 3:44 am

    Happy UBP ’09!

Leave a Reply

