Skip to content

Menu Monday: Halal Cooking

March 30, 2009

Okay one of the things that I loved about living in Toronto was the abundance of halal meat and to be honest I was buying it long before I learned anything about Islam. First it is about how the meat is gotten, and what is most humane.

So I decided here in rural that I wanted to try and go halal. Well that wasn’t possible as there is no halal butcher in sight. I then looked at kosher because they are similar in ethics. Well couldn’t do that either. I did find some halal lamb, but what else can one eat if they are following halal or want to try it? Any seafood: fish, clams etc are all good and are considered halal. So this weeks menu is all about halal. Are you game to try a halal diet?

Monday: Fish and chips. making these English batter style.

Tuesday: Corn Chowder, homemade rolls and salad

Wednesday: TVP( textured protein) Tacos,

Thursday: fish with butter and lemon, rice, and carrots

Friday: veggie pizza homemade style

Saturday: Old Fashion Irish stew made with lamb..

Sunday: left overs

Now I am off to see what else is cooking on eveyone else menu’s over Organizing Junkie.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2009 11:13 pm

    Hi 🙂 I followed your twitter link here, and wanted to read what you were saying about halal. Seeing how you are in rural Canada, is it possible to go to a farmer and request that he slaughter it by hand? It’s relatively simple to do, and perhaps if you wanted to do the Islamic invocation, you could do so right before he cuts. This, of course, is if there are livestock farms where you are 😀

    Your menu sounds delicious! Planning the menu for a week sounds like a great way to keep on top of the eating healthy goal I’m working on.

  2. March 31, 2009 6:30 pm

    Well, I didn’t expect to find anything halal in rural Canada! In Japan, my Muslim colleagues always has to order from far flung places to get their halal meat.

    Why did you decide to opt for halal? and is it for good? I mean, from now on thing?

  3. March 31, 2009 7:11 pm

    I opted for a Halal experiment but I am working my way towards full time Halal but it will take some time. I have learned to do things slowly.

Leave a Reply

