Skip to content

What Works for Me : Saving Money on Dental Care

April 8, 2009

6a00d83451c5ac69e20112791ced0428a41Last January I wrote a post on getting dental care on the cheap. To be honest it is one of my posts that gets the most hits. People are looking for ways to save on dental care. So here is my short list of how I saved for years when I didn’t have dental benefits. I now work at a job where I do and I am thankful for that. So how did I manage dental care when I had a very limited budget:

1. First we have fairly decent dental hygiene practices here at home. Meaning we brush and floss well. I also bought a $6 tube of PreviDent 5000. It is a sodium fluoride dental cream. My dentist recommended it for my daughter. She brushes with it once a week.

2.We found a good local dental hygiene school. These places let you get cleanings done for next to nothing. In most of the major cities you can find these: here in Canada I know of ones in Halifax, Hamilton, and Toronto.You can often save hundreds but you will spend a few visits in the chair, but think clean teeth for less then $50.00 and sometimes even for free.

3. Find a close by dental school for the major work. Here in Nova Scotia there is Dalhousie University and in Toronto there are two really good schools George Brown and University of Toronto. Most universities or college campuses that have a dental program are always looking for new patients. The one drawback there is a bit of a wait but the good news is if there is an emergency you can always call and they can usually get you into there emergency clinic within a few days.

For me when I was on a fixed income these few things helped me and my daughter. Now I still need some more work done but I am getting there.

Now there are many things that work for many people and we all share them at We are that Family on Wednesdays. Come join the fun. As well, if you know other sources for great dental care that can leave you with cents in your pocket book let me know.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. wherelifebecomesart permalink
    April 10, 2009 1:06 am

    Great post. I went to a dental school once for a cleaning, but I TOTALLY forgot about that!! I haven’t been to the dentist in 4 years, and I’m sure my toddlers need to go, but we haven’t because of funds. I think I’ll still send them to a real dentist, but I think I’m going to look back into that school for myself. Thanks for the tip!

  2. April 14, 2009 1:21 am

    I would like to also add that in our town, Vegas, we have several dental schools that created a large number of dentists. Due this fact one can find terrific prices, promotions and such.
    Many will work with your budget.

  3. September 6, 2010 8:23 pm

    Great information for families. It is so important that young children are seen by dental health care providers..you can be helping to prevent many expensive, uncomfortable dental problems in their future for them.

    As a dental hygienist, when I compliment adults on their great oral health status they often acknowledge it is thanks to their parents who valued dental care – often despite financial ease and access.

    Dental hygiene schools, and dental schools are great sources of safe treatment, keep in mind usually a great deal of your time is required getting appointments and at the appointments as instructors need to check students work along the way- BUT you can’t beat the price and you are helping out the students. Often you find a student that you follow after they graduate and enter private practice- a win win for everyone.

    I would also like to add that in Canada most provinces have now changed legislation to allow dental hygienists to open their own clinics. Ontario, British Columbia, and Alberta lead the way in numbers of clinics. The number of hygienist owned clinics will increase as the public becomes aware, and uses these services.

    I know this is the case in many US states now as well.

    If you want to find a dental hygiene clinic- do an internet search or look on your provinces Dental Hygiene Association, or regulatory board for a list. Remember in Canada this is regulated- so you are ensured you are seeing hygienists that have met provincial requirements to open such a clinic.

Leave a Reply

