Skip to content

Works for Me: Earth Day

April 22, 2009

sping-08-071

This picture was taken by me last summer. For me it represents the great beauty our earth provides for us to enjoy.

But at what costs are we enjoying this earth and will sights like this be around for our grandchildren?

For me several years ago I got concerned about my impact here on earth and the legacy it would leave my child.

I made the choice to be on who tries her best to be apart of the solution. How are some of the ways this common family takes care of the earth?

  • we recycle: blue bins are now part of the Canadian culture, and recycling is done in many cities, but are you a good recycler, do you really do it and do it well?
  • we have gone meatless at least twice a week.
  • we walk most everywhere we go, and when I lived in Toronto we took the subway or TTC.
  • replaced light bulbs with long lasting environmentally friendly ones
  • shop second hand- frugal and earth friendly
  • going paperless with my bills, I access and pay everything online.
  • make use of rentals and libraries for things like books, cds and movies
  • don’t litter
  • and the list can go on

Now these are things that work here at our house, what is working where you are today? Are your kids better at it then you? I know mine is. I am now off to vist We are That Family to see what works for everyone else today. Happy Earth Day!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2009 1:27 pm

    Great list! We do many of the same things, though we can’t walk anywhere from where we live.

    My WFMW tip links up to a coupon for free reusable tote bag, good today only…. it’s their way of celebrating Earth Day. I am trying to get in the habit of using the reusable totes instead of getting plastic bags at the store— my problem is that I always leave them at home! I need to keep some in my car.

  2. April 22, 2009 6:42 pm

    This is a great list for Earth Day! Thanks for sharing it!

  3. April 23, 2009 4:55 pm

    Click my name to see some things we do. I’m so glad to see you mention eating less meat–I’ve looked at several other WFMW about Earth Day that didn’t mention that, as I eat my lunch of delicious lentils! I had hardly ever eaten lentils until two years ago, and now I can’t imagine how I lived without them…and it’s like that with most of the habits I’ve changed to help the environment.

Leave a Reply

