Skip to content

Friday Freebie: Read Great Books Online for Free

April 24, 2009

When I have offered Freebies the last few times it has been all about learning. First I pointed you toward Dell and its free online courses and then I pointed you toward Academic Earth and some of the best minds from top American universities.

Today I wanted to share one of the ways that I learn best, and that is reading. I love to read. Yes truly there is nothing like the feel of a good book in my hand. I love to be taken away in novels. I love to go back in time with books that remind me of the great history we have. I love to grab a cook cookbook and try a new recipe. Do you get the picture? I love to read. Recently with the harshness of this past Canadian winter I began to read more online. Today my freebie is where to read and even some download-able books for free for your pda, or online reader. There are many sites that offer this ability and well I am just sharing my top 10.

1. Scribed was the first site found awhile back when I was looking to read a certain book. Here you can find a mix of books and documents with new content on a regular basis.

2. Ufindbook has over 200,ooo titles in a variety formats including pdf, html. and chm. You will find many ebooks here

3. Planet eBook has the best collection of classical liteature.

4. Get Free Books is another source for downloading with a variety of titles.

5. Many Books has a very cool reviews section.

6. Project Gutenberg is probably one of the oldest online resources for reading material, and has over 28,000 free books available for download.

7. Bored.com Are you bored? Go here for some great reads.

8. International Children’s Library shares a wonderful collection of childrens books. If you have a child, you want to visit this site.

9. Bibliomania has a great collection of short stories, poems, play and ebooks.

10. Daily Lit While have a large number of books you can read what I liked best here were the group reads, and the encouraging of even reading short snipets.

Hope this list helps you with your reading.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 24, 2009 1:18 pm

    Thanks for this list, I will create a link to it on our main site for our visitors.

    Nice blog btw 🙂

Leave a Reply

