Skip to content

My First Month on Twitter

May 3, 2009

Just over a month ago I made my very first post on Twitter. In my first month I have learned much about Social Media, about tweets, and how one can become a Twitterolic. This is my story about my first month as a resident in Twitterville.

I have learned there are both pros and cons to tweeting and to Twitterville. I have also learned there are rules to follow as well.

First the Rules:

1. Do post a picture, nothing is as annoying as one who hasn’t figured out how to do that. Personally unless you have a picture I am not following.

2.Do fill out the profile. It is a great way to find like minded people on Twitter.

3. Get rid of the generic background, it then seems like you really are setting up house on Twitter.

4. Don’t auto follow and don’t auto DM (direct message either).

For me I have found those to be the big ones.

The Pros of Twitter:

1. I have connected with some great fellow bloggers that I may not of found otherwise, it really allows you to connect with other like minded people.

2. Great links. This month those that I follow have shared great links from :Utube videos, to great blog posts, to links to some pretty great sites.

3. New friends, I cant wait to meet some of my new online friends at perhaps a future Tweetup.

4. I have learned plenty about Social Media and what it is and what it can do.It can do some great things. Ie: raising $50,000 for the March of dimes in a few days, or broadcasting an amber alert, there are so many different ways this space on the web can be used.

The Negatives:

1. Auto DMs that iclude a link to some gimmick, just plain yuck!

2. It is addictive, if you allow yourself you can spend you whole day following tweets, remember to keep a balance.

3. Tweets that scream me me me. It aint all about YOU.

For me this month has been more then intersting. It has been great meeting new friends and connections. I loved watching the outpouring of love for @mamasphor and@newbornidentity after there daugther Maddie  died, and the funds that were raised for the March of Dimes. I loved staying up late to watch the Ashton verses CNN race to a million followers. I thought it was cool that it was my tweet that made the New York Times when Oprah joined Twitter. For me it definitely has been an interesting month and I am sure there is much more to learn as I journey through Twitterville.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    May 3, 2009 8:41 pm

    I’ve only been on twitter a few weeks, and to be honest, I thought I’d be the only one from around the area. We’re not exactly known for embracing change or technology around these parts, lol. But I must say, it was a nice surprise to see a few others.

    Hope Twitter continues to be interesting for you… you are right, it can get addicting 😉

  2. gavin permalink
    May 9, 2009 9:57 am

    Nice review, especially for being so new to Twitter.

    I came via the 31DBBB

Leave a Reply

