Skip to content

Works for Me Wednesday:From Diet Coke to the Frugal Drink H20

June 3, 2009

I have something major to admit here! I have been a diet coke drinker for years. I loved my diet cokes, all my friends will tell you. I always had to have a can, glass bottle on hand. I was an addict.

Well something that is working for me, I have given up my addiction. I must of spent at least $50 a month on soda, can you believe that? A self claimed frugal mom wasting money like that. Well I did, but no more. By giving up my addiction I can pocket $600 a year and well that is money I can use in other places and for other things.

What is in my glass right now? WATER. Yes,  I said water! I have made the switch and I am finding myself less thirsty, caving sweets less and fuller. How is that possible? I just now I am.

The scienctists say we are 70% water so I know this is good for me.

I drink my water with a wee bit of lemon and lots of ice. How do you like yours? Are you a water drinker yet? Can you think of a better summer drink to cool you down?

Now I am off to We Are THAT Family to see what works for everyone else this week.

PS For a great list of 33 things you can do with Kids that are free this summer read here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 3:35 pm

    Congratulations on giving up that habit! Water is healthier obviously and giving up soda, diet or not will contribute to weight loss. Small things count.

    And sodas or any sweet drinks like juices only makes us thirst for more, doesn’t really quench the ‘real’ thirst.

  2. June 3, 2009 6:54 pm

    Congrats! I am a Dt. Dr. Pepper drinking and know that I spend at least $50.00 a month on the stuff. I am trying to do with less and hope I make it just like you!

Trackbacks

  1. Works for Me Wednesday:From Diet Coke to the Frugal Drink H20 … | H2O Report

Leave a Reply

