Skip to content

20 Canadian Blogs that Help You Be Money Smart.

June 15, 2009

Well I am just another mom on a journey and well that journey has me checking out all the Canadian content I could find. You see last week on Frugal Dad there was a list post of top Frugal Blogs.  I was well a bit surprised that no one north of the border made that list.

Now I do visit, read and comment on blogs south of the border because they do have many tricks that we can use up here. Now there is a big BUT coming, not always do they meet the needs or desires of the Canadian mom looking to save a loonie or two.

So I decided I needed we as Canadians needed a  special list, I hope you fellow Canucks find it useful. It is chalked FULL of Canadian content. Blogs that will help you be frugal, blogs that help you decide on investing, blogs that help you organize. Blogs that basically help, encourage and inspire me and I hope they do the same for you. Blogs written from a Canadian mindset.These are in no particular order.

1. Common Cents Mom- Yes my blog is one written primarily for moms looking to save, and I hope it becomes a blog you follow. I am about finding ways to save that leave cents in the wallet.

For the Frugally minded:

2. Squawkfox-is a lifestyle blog as the writer Kerry calls it. It is full of ideas that help you live larger on a budget.

3.Frugal Canadian Living-a Canadian’s guide to a frugal life.

4.Frugal Dreamer-blog of a 20 something who lives frugally.

5. Simply Frugal in Canada– great posts of some of the best deals, as well as many frugal posts.

6.Fablously Broke in the City– trying to balance saving and shopping

For the Best Bargains, Coupons and Freebies

7.Bargainista– this Toronto based Mom blogs some of the best bargains.

8.Bargain Moose– Anna loves to shop but doesn’t like to spend so she posts some great deals.

9.Smart Canucks-Canadian Freebies, deals, and coupons

Now for your money/ personal finance needs you want to follow these:

10. Gail Vax-Oxlade– a woman who know money, and debt, if you are dealing with both you must follow her.

11. Ellen Roseman– Toronto Star columnist who dishes straight talk on personal finance and consumer issues.

12.Four Pillars-these guys write about personal finance and investing with a few frugal posts as well.

13. Canadian Drean: Free at 45-engineer in his 30’s who dreams of being free at 45.

14. Get Rich Slowly– a blog devoted to sensible personal finance

15.Thicken My Wallet– a lawyer now writes about finance, small business and everything else.

16.Where Does All the Money Go– great blog on finance and so much more

17.The Money Gardener-a couple trying to grow their wealth, and their take on personal finance

Now the rest have their own niche or take on things that help me be money smart and I hope they help you too.

18. Organizing Junkie– host of Menu Monday one of the tools I use to save on shopping.

19. Give Me Back My 5 Bucks– one woman’s journey out of debt

20-The Asian Pear– another young woman who is trying to find the balance

Are there any missing from the list that you think should be here? If so let me know, who is on your list?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2009 11:09 pm

    Thanks for the mention!

    There’s a few others there that are already in my reader, but a few I haven’t heard of, so I’ll take a look! Thanks for the post 🙂

  2. June 16, 2009 4:26 pm

    We just released a new site for saving money on groceries for Canadians. Grocery Alerts Canada (http://www.groceryalerts.ca/)

  3. June 17, 2009 11:43 pm

    Thanks so much for the link again! I’ll have to take a look at some of the other blogs as I haven’t heard of some of them!

  4. June 25, 2009 4:53 am

    Great list, thanks Hollie! The GGS girls are going to go check them out. Go CANADA!!!! WHOOT!

  5. July 3, 2009 4:56 pm

    Thanks for the shout!! 🙂

  6. July 13, 2009 5:34 pm

    Nice list here, but most of these are pretty well known…maybe next time a list of lesser known yet still very good blogs would be helpful as well? Just a thought…

  7. January 11, 2010 12:35 pm

    Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.

    I’m Out! 🙂

  8. May 23, 2010 3:45 am

    Beauty4Moms.blogspot.com is a US based frugal blog but offers several deals, coupons, freebies, & giveaways for Canadian friends too!

  9. Julie permalink
    June 27, 2011 1:46 am

    Wow, thanks for the list, there are quite a few I haven’t seen. One that I do have bookmarked that is Not on this list is
    http://www.canadianfreestuff.com

    Love Simply frugal I am now following on twitter.

Trackbacks

  1. Hello, Canada! | 918CouponQueen.com
  2. Are you Moneyville’s Next Blogger? «

Leave a Reply

