Skip to content

Works for Me- The Choice of Hijab

August 12, 2009

This post has been a long time coming. One could say it was 40 years in the making. You see I have been on a journey through out my life for things that make sense. For me God makes sense. I know he doesn’t for some and that is ok for them but for me he does.

As a child I grew up in a typical Christian home of sorts, as a teen I had lots of questions about theology. Then as a young woman I decided Mormonism was the answer for me. For many years I was an active member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. After my divorce 10 years plus ago I started to formulate more theology questions. I even started back at my christian roots but the answers werent there for me. Where did I find the answers I sought for many years-in Islam. Yes, Common Cents Mom is coming out and telling the world I am a practicing Muslim.

With that the Hijab, a veil that women wear works for me! It identifies me as a woman of faith, a woman who prays 5 times a day. A woman who worships God (Allah). I have just started to wear it on a more regular basis and I want it out there that I am one who wears the hijab with pride. It works for me.

DSCF0085

Now

Now I am off to read over at We Are That Family what works for everyone else and as well see what pictures are being posted for Wordless Wednesday.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2009 5:41 am

    Allahu Akbar (Allah is Great). MashaAllah (God willed), you look gorgeous 🙂

    Mubarak! Congratulations my dear sister in Islam.

    May Allah reward you handsomely in this dunya (time on Earth) and the akhira (Hereafter) for all your faith, love, worship and devotion to Him and Only Him. May He make your public display of dedication come with much pleasure, peace, strength, confidence, happiness and unending satisfaction. Ameen.

    Having embraced Islam 10 years this year, and embracing hijab ~4 years ago (my whole family is non-Muslim); please feel free to reach out to me whenever you need anything! By being here for you, I’m fulfilling my duty to Allah.

    Much love with a big hug,
    Wa salam (In peace),
    Your sister in Islam Ponn

  2. deborah smith permalink
    August 25, 2009 6:30 pm

    hello hollie. I’d like to talk with you — can you call me? 416 205 5711. thanks, deb

  3. September 8, 2009 4:05 pm

    Awesome:)

    May Allah (swt) keep you steadfast on His deen always.
    Ameen.

  4. Connie permalink
    September 13, 2009 5:55 pm

    Congratulations on your decision to follow your heart and declare your faith publicly.
    God Bless. (in whichever form you see Him.)

  5. September 22, 2009 10:19 pm

    Congrats ‘Common Cents Mom’ on this decision. Actually life is all about choices 🙂 So, May Allah (God) always protect us and guide us among the right and righteous path! Amen!

Leave a Reply

