Skip to content

Frugal and Fit Friday -Week One

October 16, 2009

frugal friday I have decided that I wanted to start weekly series. It is called Frugal and Fit Friday.Why? I have made the choice as well as being a frugal mom I want to be a fit Mom. I need this for me.

Really I have been overweight all of my adult life, and I can no longer stand to live in this body that is now my creation. Really, I am now at my fattest! I hate that I huff and puff when I walk, that my thighs hit each other when I walk, and I can not run without getting out of breath for minutes after word. I am not fit. I am not healthy and that is about to change.

I am inviting you my readers, my friends to follow me on my journey to becoming a fit frugal mom. Now I am not rich. No Weight watchers or purchasing into any programs for me.

How am I going to be fit and frugal?

1. I signed up for Spark People. Perhaps you have heard me mention this great FREE tool for weight loss before. I have posted on it. I will be keeping track in their online journals of both what I’m eating and how much exercise I am doing. This means I am journalling what goes in! This is important for weight loss.

2. I have an accountability partner. I have a girlfriend and Yes she lives on the west coast, but she wants to lose as much as I do.We will be encouraging each other in this path. I also have all of you and by doing this once a week you all will know the facts.

3.On Wednesday I wrote about walking. Walking for now will be my primary exercise..But I have put together a wee frugal home gym that I will blog about next week. I will walk either outside or at the mall for 45 minutes at least 5 times a week. I will also to strengthening exercises for 20 minutes twice a week.

4. I am also planning my menu and will be posting my frugal healthy halal recipes on my blog each Monday. By planning what I eat no need for running to the store, which for me can bring oodles of temptation.

5. I am drinking lots of water instead of the soda pop that had been in my glass most days.

All of these cost me nothing or next to nothing but time and I am worth the time and effort!

So now time for my Truth Tube as Dr Oz would call it.

Weight –250 exactly ..Goal 150

Blood Pressure was 132/ 82 which is normal thank good ness

Waist Measurement 44 inches

Breast measurement 53 inches

BMI 39.15 which puts me at severe risk for

  • Hypertension
  • Dyslipidemia
  • Type 2 diabetes
  • Coronary heart disease
  • Stroke
  • Gallbladder disease
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Sleep apnea
  • Endometrial, breast, and colon cancer

My Real Age is 56 (12 years older than I am).yikes!

Now by following my own 5 rules 1.Journal, accountability, drinking lots of water, exercising and menu planning I am planning for success. So come with me as I get fit frugally. I will also be tweeting my frugal weight tips on twitter

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Renee permalink
    October 16, 2009 3:34 pm

    It sounds like you have laid out a good plan. Don’t give up. There will be days that you will feel like you failed – don’t let one bad day, week or month cause you to quit. You can do it!

  2. Shelagh permalink
    October 20, 2009 2:03 pm

    Hiya!! I’m with you. Want to lose 50 pounds and GET FIT!! So hard, so important. Bust a Move is going to help with that:)
    We can do it!!!!
    Cheers, Shelagh

Leave a Reply

