Skip to content

Works for Me: Remembering

November 11, 2009

wfmwbannerKRISTENToday I would like to step out of frugal mom mode and take a moment and remember.

This November 11th, this day set aside to remember the fallen and those who served and served this mom remembers:

My cousin who has served 3 tours in Iraq. My other cousin who is an active member of the Canadian Navy.

My ex husband who served in the American Forces and came home from war disabled.

My stepfather who served during the Korean War.

My uncle who was a navy diver.

My grandfather Hilliard Kain, who like is son was a navy man, who served in WW2

My grandfather Norman Pollard who was one of our Canadian POW’s.

My great grandfather Charles Pollard who served in WW1.

Today I stopped at 11 am and remembered all who serve and served, because I can. Because I am free.

Thank you to them your acts are not forgotten!

How and who do you remember this day?

Remembering works for me, I pray it works for you as well. Now I am off to visit We are THAT family to see what is working for you this week.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 3:54 pm

    As I left this morning, I thanked the husband for 20 years of service in the Marine Corps. I couldn’t imagine doing the things he did, overseas OR stateside. ALL military deserve our respect and gratitude for the things they do to protect perfect strangers.

  2. Theresa permalink
    November 11, 2009 5:05 pm

    I am in Canada, and am so very blessed to live in freedom . I am thankful to all those who fought so that we could live free of tyranny. My father served in the Cdn. army for 23 years and my husbands father served for 26. They served in peace time but their service is valued none the less. I continue to pray for all the allied troops serving abroad, they are owed a debt of gratitude.

Leave a Reply

