Skip to content

How to Have a Debt Free Frugal Christmas

December 14, 2009

When I think of Christmas these days I am drawn to the thoughts of overspending. When was the last time you spent only cash for Christmas. For most of us going into debt for Christmas is habit. I can here the burn of the credit card as they are  over used at the cash machine. Well for me I said no thanks to the commercial  Christmas and decided long ago my holidays would be debt free.

I have always loved the forums at Frugal Shopper.ca and back in January many of the women wrote about having a free Christmas or a partially free one.

For me this Christmas I will let you know I have 6 people to shop for including one preteen daughter and well I spent less then $250.00 cash and well the rest of it comes thanks to Shopper Optimum Points and Airmiles.

What did I do? and What did I get?

Well lets see for me I received $100 from the Ex and $150 from my mom for Christmas/Birthday for me and Roo (both our birthdays are within a week of Christmas). That was the cash I used.

Other wise at the beginning of the year I started collecting points…by the November I was able to cash in my points for gifts and gift cards that well got turned into presents.. I was able to redeem points at shoppers for $200 in goods. I was also able to get a $50 Sobeys card, $50 Chapters card and $40 in Lawtons gift cards.

How far was I able to stretch that total of $540?

For Roo and Me- a Wii and Wii Fit($155.25)- cashed in Shoppers Points and Fit on sale

For Roo:

  • Sonic Game for the Wii( $19.99) on sale
  • electric Keyboard($30.00) on sale
  • pjamas, robe and slipper($33.00)
  • 3 card games($9.99) on sale
  • craft set($9.99) on sale
  • Build a Bear dog($30) used $8 off coupon
  • 2 lip balms($5)
  • socks($3)
  • book($15)

These gifts are from me, her dad and grandmother.

For my mom:

a snugglie ($20), purse ($25), chocolates($7) and socks($3)

For my sister

lets just say some great stuff, she reads my blog. 😀

For my 2 nieces:

a bathrobe each($15), a lip gloss each($5)

For my BIL:

a adult game..($15)

This equates to about $480 and I was able to give Roo $50 to go shopping for me. So the total is $530.

For me it was important to do it debt free. It will simply make the day more enjoyable. Are you going into debt this Christmas or did you budget?

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 25, 2009 4:50 pm

    Hi Hollie, I agree with what you wrote here. My family is also keeping a tight budget on Christmas and careful not to overspend. It’s my daughter’s birthday on the 23rd so there’s a lot to consider when December comes. 🙂

    BTW, I was trying to find an article of yours I’ve read before – about links for kids..my OS was reinstalled and I lost the links for Pristine. But I could not find your blog’s search function…can you help me retrieve that post of yours? the URL has the word “learn” on it and you said Roo uses it a lot. Thanks, Hollie!

Leave a Reply

