Skip to content

A Decade In Review

December 30, 2009

It’s hard to believe that the first decade of the millennium will soon draw to a close. I remember 10 years ago I was 35 and had a toddler in tow. I was just getting used to being a single mom.

Now 10 years later so much has changed and some things have remained the same..

What did 10 years bring my way?

I lived in 5 different locales! Toronto. Montreal, Hamilton, New Glasgow and now Halifax and not in that order.

I started the decade out of work. I went to school. Got Microsoft certified in all the Office programs and got a job that first year. I was a working single mom till Rachel turned 5.

Well working did not last long because midway through this decade my daughter was diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome.

I became a welfare mom who was there for my daughter when she needed her mom the most. I spent 3 years getting her an IEP at school and the support she needed while learning as much as I could about the illness. It was one of the best things I ever did.

I survived a fire that destroyed the 30 unit complex next door and left my apartment unsafe for me and Roo. Great friends helped me pick up the pieces.

I survived a bout with cervical cancer.

I did not work a full time job for about 4 years. I did have 2 part time ones and did plenty of volunteer work at my daughter’s school and at the local food bank.

I learned how to be frugal. I learned how to budget. I learned how to use coupons. I learned how to make use of things like freebies and contests. I learned how to live simply and I am loving it!

I re-entered the workforce after becoming an internet tech. I love helping others get and stay connected!

I became a blogger and met many great friends through several of my blogs over the years. I have owned 7 different blogs- all of them mom blogs mostly.

I entered the world of Social Media this year and learned all about Twitter and Facebook. I am loving the new connections they bring.

Really in 10 years many things change..and I wonder what will the next 10 bring?

What do you see in your future?

What was your favorite thing of the last decade?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

