Skip to content

Menu Monday: The One Pot Challenge Begins

January 4, 2010

See this picture? This is how I have been cooking forever! Lots of pots and lots of mess. Well I wanted to challenge myself. I wanted to simplify my cooking. It is one of my goals for this year so how about joining me on my journey. From now on at least 4 meals a week will be cooked using ONE pot. Yes I said one pot! That is the goal. What pot am I going to use? For these meals I will be using my slow cooker or my large skillet,occasionally I might be using a baking pan or roaster, but each meal will take only one pan.

Want to help me on my journey? I need recipes to try. To use. To make. Send me your favorite one pot meal and you will be my new best friend. The goal is try new recipes each and every week. I will attempt to have 3 meals a week be new to my household. Who knows they might be a weekly favorite at your house.

So what is on the menu this week?

We still have left over turkey so I am using that up this week and trying a few vegetarian recipes as well.

Monday- Cran Turkey Enchiladas

Tuesday-Breakfast for Dinner- Easy Egg Skillet Dinner

Wednesday-Quick Skillet Lasagna-Substituting ham for cubed turkey

Thursday- Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili ( being made by tween)

Friday- Leftovers

Saturday-Cheese Pizza and salad

Sunday- Marie’s Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

The other staple to most of these meals will be a small side salad. Roo and I both love salad so that will be a mainstay.

Now I am off to see what frugal healthy one pot recipes I can find to try next week. I love reading all your menu plans at Organizing Junkie.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 10:06 am

    hmmmmm, my “theme” for the year is SIMPLICITY so it might be an idea to try this at least for a few weeks sometime this year. LOVE the idea.

  2. January 4, 2010 4:01 pm

    I made the White Bean and Chicken Chili from Pink Parsley last night and it was delicious! It’s a crockpot rercipe but could easily be done on the stovetop. You can find the recipe at http:
    //pinkparsleycatering.blogspot.com/2009/10/crockpot-white-bean-chicken-chili.html

  3. January 5, 2010 1:18 pm

    I SO understand the not-enough-room-to-cook thing! I don’t think my kitchen is any bigger than yours, and we usually have a giant DOG in the middle of the floor!

    Risotto is a great one-pot meal – my all-time favorite is here:
    http://darksideofthefridge.wordpress.com/2009/09/09/the-last-risotto-ill-ever-make/

    I also tried a similar dish (sort of!) with pasta a few weeks ago that was very good:
    http://darksideofthefridge.wordpress.com/2009/12/17/decembers-third-thursday-pasta-or-rice/

    And this stove-top skillet chicken & rice adapted from a Cook’s Illustrated recipe is fabulous:
    http://darksideofthefridge.wordpress.com/2009/12/16/chicken-rice-how-nice/

Leave a Reply

