Skip to content

I Need Recipe Help

January 7, 2010

Here I am challenging myself to do something new an simplify my cooking by using just one pot several times a week this year. Am I nuts? But what I really need are recipes! Do you have a favorite one pot recipe you can share?? Pretty please.

Now I will go answer some of  your questions this Backwards Day at We are That Family.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2010 4:39 pm

    Hobo Dinner – or hamburger rice.

    Cook ground beef in large deep skillet. Can add onions & garlic – spices to taste.
    Drain grease.
    Add 1 C uncooked long grain rice – stir to coat with grease/oil.
    Add water or stock – read directions, enough to cook rice.
    Add any seasoning you like.
    I like to add worchestershire sauce and steak sauce.
    Add veggies of your choice, corn, beans, tomatoes etc…
    Mix all together, turn heat to medium-low and simmer until rice is cooked – test and add liquid as needed, also stir so that rice doesn’t stick.

    Play around with it – you can add diff ingredients and get a diff take on it each time.

  2. January 7, 2010 7:04 pm

    I have a few.
    One of my favorite soups, Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice http://www.tidymom.net/2009/10/creamy-chicken-wild-rice-soup.html

    and White Bean Chicken Chili http://www.tidymom.net/2009/10/white-bean-chicken-chili.html

    good luck! sounds like a fun project!

  3. January 11, 2010 6:36 am

    I don’t have recipes to share of the top of my head… But have you considered cooking with a crockpot and crockpot recipes? Super easy and requires so little effort. And it’s all done in one pot!

  4. January 12, 2010 6:06 pm

    Lentil Rice is easy and extremely versatile; you can make several flavor variations. Many of the other recipes on my site are one-pot meals, or “cook in one pot and serve with bread or salad” meals, or two-pot meals. Good luck with your challenge!

  5. January 18, 2010 8:01 pm

    Do you have a rice cooker? I do a lot of one-pot meals in this. Mine has a steamer basket on top where I put fish or chicken. In the base: rice, flavouring (either broth or water + bouillon) and frozen mixed vegetables. Whole chicken breasts do cook completely in the top while the rice steams. I cut deep slits in them before they go in to be sure.

    Soups. Beef vegetable, stews, chili — I do all these in one pot. Often in the crock pot, too!

    I often use the griddle when I want to cook something that would normally require more than one frying pan. Like fried potatoes with eggs and sausage. Use the griddle and only one “pan” to clean instead of two or three! And finally I can fry enough potatoes to make everyone happy!

Leave a Reply

