Skip to content

WFMW: 7 Frugal Valentine Ideas

February 3, 2010

It is that time of year and for some romance is in the air.

For me I am single yet again this Valentine’s Day but that is ok with me. I still have lots of love to share and I love to share it with my family.

What are some frugal ideas that have worked for me over the years?

1. I find words make for a great show of love. I get red construction paper and write out the character attributes I love about my daughter. I think it is a cool and specific way to show your love, and think it could be done for under $2

2. I have created cards many times over the years. I have used my scrap booking supplies or even Rachel’s art supplies. A handmade card shows effort and you care.

3. Another one I have used in the past are love coupons. I printed off coupons that could be used for many things that showed my love. For coupons for my sweetheart: a massage, a bath, control of the remote were just a few of the ones in my book.

4. I always love a single flower. I think a well chosen single flower can make a big impact.

5.Music is something I have always loved sharing. If they are an exercise hound how about creating the perfect workout  CD or if you are doing it for your sweetie I love LOVE songs.

6. Lipstick notes on bathroom mirror are another way to show your love.

7. My last idea I used years ago when married. Table for two..after kids asleep or occupied, a late night dinner just for 2. Make your spouse a nice spaghetti dinner or how about doing a simple fondue?

Sometimes the simple things can have a big impact and show you care without stretching your wallet too much. I

Now I am off to see what is working for you this week at We Are THAT Family.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 5kidswdisabilities permalink
    February 4, 2010 1:36 am

    Loved you Valentines’ ideas, especially for our large family! Fondue!! Great suggestion! Fun AND inexpensive!
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

  2. February 4, 2010 5:03 am

    Great ideas. Especially the late-night dinner for 2. And you know what? I have NEVER done a lipstick note on the bathroom mirror! LOL I may have to try that one! 😉

  3. February 12, 2010 4:25 am

    Great ideas Hollie. Thank you for sharing. As we are only a few days away from VDay I have to come up with something frugal for my daughter and husband 😉

    Happy Valentine’s day to you and your daughter!

Leave a Reply

