Skip to content

Taking Care of My Mouth Frugally

February 9, 2010

I have something to admit. I hate my mouth. I hate my teeth and have so since I was a child. I have never liked my smile. I find it the most unattractive part of me. With that said, I have never taken proper care of my mouth or teeth. I know! EW!

Not taking care costs you: it can cost you big financially and more importantly it can impact you overhaul health.

The past few week have seen me paying big because of my negligence.  I spent 3 weeks in pain as an abscess was dealt with and then I had to have a tooth pulled. I am now facing about $5,000 in needed dental care. Ouch, right?

I am thankful that I now have dental coverage through work but it does have a cap. So how can I take care of my mouth and still be frugal?

Here in Halifax there are some options like the dental school at Dalhousie. If you are like me and have not taken care of your mouth I know how you are feeling and may I suggest you check out your local college or university.Check if they have a dentistry program. If they do you may want to use them. It may take a few more appointments and a bit more time in the chair, but it could end up saving you big time in the long run.

Do you need a clean mouth? Do you need a cleaning. Most cities have a dental hygiene school. Check out your local one. From experience I know you can get a good cleaning. Again you may have to spend more time in the chair but it is well worth it.

One of the major things to note if you go this route, you will still be under the care of a trained dentist and there is always one on site. For me that made me feel more comfortable.

So next time you need to take care of your mouth  you might want to check out what is local to you.

I would encourage you to look after your mouth if you are like me and have not been doing so, there could be major consequences ahead otherwise.

I am off to read what others are tackling today at 5 Minutes for Mom.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 9:56 pm

    OUCH!!! I’m sooo not a fan of going to the dentist. Hope it works out and thanks for the great ideas on saving money. 🙂

  2. February 10, 2010 2:20 am

    Thanks for the tip!! It is good advice.

Leave a Reply

