Skip to content

31 Days and 31 Ways to Save: Day 3-Tackling the Laundry

May 3, 2011

I hate laundry. It is never ending, smelly, dirty, and sometimes just plain gross but it has to get done.

Most of us spend too much of our hard earned cash on this task. We could be tackling the laundry and saving along the way. How? Here are some suggestions:

  • Get yourself an energy efficient washing machine if you can. Even though there will be an outlay of cash in the beginning you will reap the savings. Have you tried a front loading machine by chance? They save energy and water.
  • Wash on the shortest wash cycle. Do you really need the extra minutes. Most of the time the answer is no.
  • My favorite way to save when doing the laundry is to hang it. Clothes just smell better hung. If you really must use a dryer try doing for only the first 15 minutes and then hang them out.
  • If you are going to use that dreaded dryer make sure you clean the lint.
  • Be soap savvy – buy it on sale, use the store brands and make sure you are not using too much soap, really a little goes a long way.
  • Add vinegar or baking soda to deodorize your clothes on the cheap. Really got those smelly sports uniforms. Try it you will love it. A 1/4 cup goes a long way.
  • Wash in cold water. It simply saves your pocket book.

Do you have any tips that save you money while attacking the dirtiest of the dirty?

Now I am off to 5 Minutes for Mom who host a Tackle It Tuesday. You can read how women are tacking many different projects in their homes.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. adil salka permalink
    May 3, 2011 4:46 pm

    hello hollie , really i read all your website ,really you have a big succés in this site .i liked it alot.

  2. Jennifer Gilbert permalink
    May 3, 2011 10:51 pm

    You can also switch to soap nuts instead of commercial detergents. Environmentally friendly and they work!

  3. Rebeka permalink
    May 4, 2011 3:34 pm

    I tend to do my drying the other way around — I hang (indoors) for a few days, and THEN if necessary I put it in the dryer on low for about 10-15 minutes to soften, remove any remaining pet hair, and make sure they’re fully dry before they get folded and put away (I hate pulling something out of a drawer after a few weeks or months and finding it smells musty because there was a bit of dampness left when I put it away last season).

    I don’t have outdoor drying space, nor do I have much room in my little condo, so I hated how cluttered it got when I used a gullwing drying rack, but then I found small folding drying racks that hang over open doors, bathtub side, balcony rail, etc, at Dollarama for just $2 each. They can even hang from the horizontal handles on my oven and fridge, if I need to hang a LOT of things to dry at once (when I’m not using oven/stove, of course), and they fold flat when not in use.

    I used to use store brand laundry detergent, but after getting a free sample I switched to Nature Clean 3X ultra-concentrate. I only need to use a tablespoon or less per large-capacity load so a $7 bottle lasts me forever and I’m not paying more per year than I was for store-brand ultra perfume/brightener/phosphate-free stuff. My sensitive skin is much happier, plus I feel good about supporting a Canadian company that puts a priority on minimizing impact on the environment.

Leave a Reply

