Skip to content

31 Days and 31 Ways to Save- Tackling the Spring Wardrobe

May 10, 2011

With the beautiful weather we are getting this week here in Toronto it is time to truly have your spring wardrobe up to snuff. I know for Rachel and me we want to be looking fine on a budget. So how am I tackling making sure we are ready for spring?

1.Inventory-both of us went through our closets to see what will work for this season. Rachel discovered she does not need much just some capris, shorts and a swimsuit as we get closer to summer. I needed a couple of skirts and sandals.

2. Made a shopping list, checked it twice, and made a budget

3. Looked for online sales, coupons and compared prices.

4. Checked out consignment stores and thrift stores for gently used or items with tags on.

I was able to pick up 2 pair of sandals, and a long black skirt that I got for 30% off with a coupon at Old Navy. For Rachel so far we got 2 pair of shorts and 1 capris from Value Village that were all like new. We still have a wee bit more shopping to do, and have spent $52.60 of our $100.00 budget. How do you save when you shop? do you comparison shop or are you a grab and go type of person?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2011 2:46 pm

    My sister-in-law taught me this one: When a store puts everything on sale at the end of the season, snap up as many as you can afford in one size up (for the kiddos) then put it away for next year. Styles for kids really don’t change that much year to year and it’s a great way to get clothing cheap.

  2. July 4, 2011 5:01 pm

    I buy at Once Upon a Child, Talize (BRampton) very good staff, and Value Village, last week I buy a lot of things for only $40.00 because all is at 50% off, if you suscribe at value village newsletter, OUC or Talize they send you some times coupons and when they have discount. For new things I check in internet the price of Gimboree, Gap, The Children’s place, etc and when I see somethings interesting I go to the store 🙂

Leave a Reply

